Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

No county contests in June 3 Iowa Primary GOP, DEMO RACES FOR STATE, CONGRESS By: John Speer, CIP

April 4, 2014
Northern-Sun Print
No challengers stepped forward to oppose Republican incumbents holding four county offices and a lone Democrat, Margaret Babinat, rural Clutier, will be on the party ballot for 1st District supervisor for the right to take on incumbent Larry Vest (R-Dinsdale) in November. The deadline to file nomination papers for the June 3 Iowa Primary was last Thursday, March 26. The “dean” of Tama County office holders, County Attorney Brent Heeren (R-Toledo) will be seeking a 9th four-year term. Vest has served the 1st District for 20 years and will be running for his 5th four-year term. Incumbent Recorder, Deborah Kupka, Clutier, is a candidate for her third full term and has been in post nine years. Michelle Yuksa, incumbent treasurer, is seeking her second, four-year term. Crowd GOP Senate Field Five Republicans are vying for the nomination for U.S. Senate, the seat held by the retiring Tom Harkin (D-Cummins). They are Sam Clovis, Hinton, Joni Ernst, Red Oak, Mark Jacobs, West Des Moines, Scott Schaben, Ames, and Matt Whittaker, Clive. U.S. Representative Bruce Braley, Waterloo, is the only Democrat seeking the nomination. For the U.S. House District 1 seat which includes all of Tama and 19 other counties in north and eastern Iowa, five Democrats and three Republicans are in the race for their party’s nominations. Braley, the Democratic U.S. Senate candidate, currently is the District 1 House member. On the Democrat side, Swati Dandekar, Marion, Anesa Kajtazovic, Waterloo, Pat Murphy, Dubuque, Dave O’Brien and Monica Vernon, both of Cedar Rapids are competing for the nomination. Republican candidates are Rod Blum, Dubuque, Gail E. Bolivar, Marshalltown and Steve Rathje, Cedar Rapids. State Races Incumbent iowa Governor Terry Branstad faces a challenge from Tom Hoefling, Lohrville, a self-described conservative activist. Branstad is seeking nomination for a second, four-year term in the primary, having been elected in 2010. He also served 16 years in the office from 1983-1999. Hoefling was the American Party candidate for President in 2012. State Senator Jack Hatch, Des moines, is the only candidate on the ballot for the Democratic governor nomination. Each party has one candidate for the party nomination for Secretary of State. Incumbent Matt Schultz (R-Truo) is a candidate for the Republican nomination for 3rd District U.S. House. Paul Pate, Cedar Rapids, is seeking to return to the Secretary of State post he held from 1995-99 as the GOP nominee. He also served as Cedar Rapids mayor from 2002-06. Brad Anderson, Des Moines, is seeking the Democrat nomination for Secretary of State. Anderson, a private businessperson, is a Democrat strategist and was the 2012 Iowa State Director for President Obama’s reelection campaign. He was Governor Chet Culver’s communications director in 2007-08. For State Auditor, Mary Mosiman is seeking election to the post she was appointed to upno the resignation of David Vaudt in May , 2013. Jonanthan Neiderbach, Des moines, is the lone candidate for the Democratic nomination for Auditor. Incumbent Michael L. Fitzgerald is seeking the nomination for for his eighth term as State Treasurer, where he has served since 1982. There is no Republican on the primary ballot. Incumbent Bill Northey, Spirit Lake, is seeking the Republican nomination for Secretary of Agriculture. He is seeking his third term. Sherrie Taha, Des Moines is the only candidate for the Democratic nomination. Incumbent Tom Miller, Des moines, is the lone Democratic candidate for Attorney General. He has served as Iowa attorney General since 1982 with the exception of 1990-94. In 1990 he unsuccessfully sought the governor’s office and was in private practice for four years before being regaining the job as Attorney General. There is no Republican on the ballot for Attorney General in the primary. For State Representative District 72, Dean Fisher, rural Garwin, is seeking the Republican nomination unopposed for a second , two-year term. Ben Westphal, rural Marshalltown, is on the ballot for the Democratic nomination for House 72. The district includes all of Tama County, primarily the southern and western portions of Marshall County and the southeastern corner of Black Hawk County including LaPorte City.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web