Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Legal fees result in landfill fee boost Expect Higher Prices For Garbage Pick Up By: John Speer, Central Iowa Press

July 6, 2013
Northern-Sun Print
Undisclosed legal problems and their resulting expenses are causing tipping fees to go up 43 percent at the Tama County Landfill. The hike will force both local service providers Sanitary Refuse and K & M Sanitation to raise their prices for pick up. Bob Hill and Larry Mann, the respective owners of the services, confirmed to The Toledo Chorincle last week they will have to increase what they charge after July 1 when the tipping fee escalates from $35 to $50 a ton for residential waste. Mann also noted construction and demolition loads will now be billed at $60 per ton. It also had been billed at $35 per ton previosuly. The Tama County Solid Waste Disposal Commission which oversees landfill operations voted 8-0 on June 13 to approve the hike “due to unforeseen legal expenses for the commission, Commission members and Landfill employees” according to meeting minutes. It remains unknown what the legal problems are. On May 30, the commisison had voted to hire West Des Monies lawyers John Roehrick and Carlton Salmons “to provide legal services “over threatened litigation.” Roehrick is being paid $225 hourly and salmons pay is $200 hourly under the agreement. Following the hiring, niether Roehrick nor Salmons responded to a Chronicle telephone request for comment. A fax request addressed to Roehirck sent on June 27 also was not answered. There was also no response to an email request for information sent on June 26 to Tama County Attorney Brent Heeren. After the hiring, Tama County 1st District Supervisor Larry Vest declined to comment as well. Commission members present for the June 13 meeting were: Steve Van De Walle, Chelsea, Mike Henle, Toledo, Barton Jensen, Dysart, Kendall Jordan, 2nd District supervisor, Toledo, 1st District Supervisor Vest, Dinsdale, Dan Anderson, 3rd District supervisor, rural Tama, Craig Russell , Gladbrook and Linn Snell, Elberon. Other members are: Tama - Bob Hill , Montour - Susan Eberhart, Vining - LeeAnn Boldt, Sac and Fox Tribe - Curtis Seymour, Garwin - Lori Leytham, Clutier, Traer, Lincoln - no current representatives.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web