Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Tama County Magistrates reappointed By John Speer Central Iowa Press

June 7, 2013
Northern-Sun Print
Tama County Magistrates Ann Kuhter, Toledo, and Richard Vander Mey, rural Clutier, were reappointed to four-year terms following the Magistrate Appointing Commission meeting last week. Kuhter will enter her fifth term on the bench. Vander Mey, a former assistant Tama County Attorney, will be serving his second term. Kuhter is not an attorney but is grandfathered into the position. At the time of her original appointment, law degrees were not required for the magistrate posts. Her service continues a tradition in Tama County in which one of the two magistrate has not been an attorney since the courts were established in 1973. The Appointing commission members include District Court Judge Faye Hoover-Grinde, John Willett, Tama, John Livingston and Marvin Wendel, both of Gladbrook and Robert Hill, Dysart. There were three other applicants for the part-time post which currently pays $37,740 annually. They included John Thompson, Tama, Barry Kaplan, rural Garwin, Bethany Currie, Marshalltown. Thompson maintains a Tama law office and Kaplan and Currie have law practices in Marshalltown. Mike Marquis, Marshalltown, withdrew his application after being appointed to a magistrate post in Poweshiek County. He is a former assistant Tama County Attorney and had served as an assistant Attorney General for the Sac and Fox Tribe of the Mississipi in Iowa- Meskwakis and currently is in private practice in Marshalltown. Tama County Magistrate Court is conducted seven days a week at the Courthouse in Toledo.


I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web