Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Gladbrook Auxiliary News

July 26, 2012
Northern-Sun Print
President Jeanne Paustian welcomed the Garwin Unit as our guests for the annual installation of officers. The meeting was opened in form. Tama Co President Jolene Denbow talked on the upcoming County Picnic at the IVH on August 4, the next county meeting in Gladbrook on September 25 and several program changes for the County this year. Jolene will hold her Tama County S of I here in Gladbrook at 6:30pm on Tuesday, August 21. The group then moved to their separate business meetings. Jeanne thanked all the Unit members for their help in making the May Memorial Day activities a success. Over $700 was donated to the Welfare Fund from the poppy distribution project. We thank the communities of Gladbrook and Lincoln for their support of this project and to the Junior members for their help. Members also participated in making cemetery wreaths, serving the Dinner and helping place flags and wreaths at the four cemeteries we serve. The dishwasher, softener and water heater has been installed and in use. A donation was made to this project. Lisa Reinhard again held an interesting Flag Day program to an attentive audience at Westbrook with the help of Junior members. Sue Koster was at the piano and Jolene brought homemade ice cream from the social held for the Memorial Park driveway project. Corn Carnival found many of our members involved. The Legion/Aux float “90 years of Family Fun” showed the Schulz family at a 4th of July picnic. No prize this year. Kendra Vavrock, Third District Junior president was honored with a ride in a Shriner convertible. President Jeanne and husband Darrell, were chosen as Grand Marshalls. With ideal weather, the event went well with good crowds and hungry appetites so the food stand did well too. The Juniors had 2 exhibits at the collectors fair and Jodi Betts was chosen as the Corn Cob Queen. Saturday kids activities were chaired by member Ashley Steven and Sam DeWitt. Six officers answered roll call. Thank you’s were read from Sam Johnson for his Auxiliary scholarship, from the Rohweder family for the memorial book for Annie, and the Trobough family for use of tables and chairs for their son’s graduation. The IVH picnic was discussed with Marilyn Carstensen to bake 2 pies, Jeanne will fix the 3 chickens, Joyce Knaack the 4 doz deviled eggs and Jolene the corn, with ham balls and baked beans furnished by the County. Those planning on attending to serve are Louise Ulch, Marilyn C, Joyce K, Jeanne P and Jolene. Jolene, Jeanne and Nikki Clapp plan on attending the Department Convention at Ames Gateway this weekend, July 13-15. Nikki is chairman of the National Finance Committee and Jolene serves as assistant Conference Chairman. Our next meeting will be the Membership Brunch on Monday, August 13 from 9-11 a.m. here in the Memorial Bldg. Hostesses are Chris Hickman and Linda Randolph. Remember this is the day you are invited to pay your 2013 dues, with Seniors at $20 and Juniors still at $3. Cards are here, so send or give your dues to Jeanne or Jolene anytime. We certainly appreciate your cooperation and promptness…..saves us a lot of work. Group #2 will be assigned to help with the Maintenance Dinner scheduled for September 30. This project helps with the insurance and daily upkeep of the Memorial Bldg. We then reconvened for the joint installation part of the evening. Jolene conducted the installation with the Sgt at Arms of Garwin and Gladbrook presenting their respective slates of officers for 2013. Those installed for Gladbrook were: President Jeanne Paustian; V-P Trudi Scott (absent); Secretary Jolene Denbow; Treasurer Priscilla Crumley (absent); Chaplain Joyce Swangel; Historian Karen Pieper; Sgt at Arms Sandy Raum, Louise Ulch and Margaret Griffin (absent). Executive Board members include Pat Oettchen, Maxine Schoel and Kathy Keiser. The meeting was adjourned with Happy Birthday sung to Jeanne Paustian and Jeni Gray, prayer and all standing for ‘God Bless America’. A delicious lunch was served by Molly Dahms with food also furnished by Betty and Abby Dahms.

Article Photos

Garwin Auxilairy Officers Front Row: (l-r) Chaplain Elaine Upah; Treasurer Floriss Stamp; President Jane Jordebrek; Secretary Beverly Judge. Back Row: Secretary-Elect Maralee Youngman; Vice-President Jennifer Gray; Sgt-at-Arms: Tammy Anderson & Crystal Anderson.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web