Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

No primary contests for courthouse - race for Demo House, GOP senate By John Speer Central Iowa Press

April 6, 2012
Northern-Sun Print
Incumbents are unopposed for their party nominations for Tama County Courthouse posts in the June 5 Iowa Primary. The last day to file to be on the ballot was March 28. Running unopposed are Auditor Laura Kopsa (D-Tama), Sheriff Dennis Kucera (R-Traer) and 2nd District Supervisor Kendall Jordan (D-Toledo). Seeking the 3rd District supervisor post are Dan Anderson (D-rural Tama) and Luke Squiers (R-rural Tama). Incumbent Dan Wilkens (D-rural Montour) is not seeking reelection to a second term. Bryan Ellenbecker (D-Tama) is the lone candidate for the Democratic nomination for county sheriff. Karen Rohrs, Tama County Elections administrator, said political parties do have until Aug. 17 to nominate candidates by convention for unfilled slots on their slates for the Nov. 6 General Election. Independent candidates may also file petitions to be included on the Nov. 6  ballot by the  Aug. 17 deadline. The filing date for U.S. House and Iowa state offices closed  March 16. There are new district boundaries due to reapportionment as the result of the 2010 Federal Census. For Iowa House of Representatives District 72 there is a two-way race in the primary for the Democratic nod. Christina Blackcloud-Garcia, Tama, faces Nathan Wrage, Gladbrook, for the nomination. Dean Fisher, rural Garwin, is the sole Republican candidate for District 72 House nomination. District 72 includes all of Tama County, primarily the western and southern parts of Marshall County and a portion of southeastern Black Hawk County including LaPorte City.  Previously most of Tama County, except the southern tier of townships, was combined in the 40th House District with Grundy County and represented by Lance Horbach (R-Tama.) He is not seeking reelection. The southern tier, including the City of Chelsea, was in House District 76 represented by Betty DeBoef (R-What Cheer.) For the state senator District 36 Republican nomination, Larry McKibben and Jane Jech, both of Marshalltown, are in the race. Steve Sodders, State Center, is the only Democrat seeking the nomination. Sodders currently serves in the Iowa Senate representing Marshall and Hardin counties. His district boundaries changed to include all of Tama and Marshall counties, and a southeastern part of Black Hawk County also including LaPorte City. Currently, all of Tama County except the southern tier of townships is represented in the Iowa Senate by Tim Kapucian (R-Keystone.) The southern tier is represented by Tom Rielly (D-Oskaloosa) in the Senate. In the U.S. 1st Congressional District, Republicans Rod Blum, Dubuque, and Ben Lange, Independence, are seeking the nomination. Bruce Braley, Waterloo, is unopposed for the Democratic nomination for U.S. 1st District Representative. Braley is an incumbent now serving The new 1st District includes 20 northeast Iowa couties and includes Tama, Marshall, Poweshiek and Iowa. Tama County has been in the 3rd Congressional District and is represented by U.S. Congressman Leonard Boswell (D-Des Moines.)


I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web