Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Trojans take title-Ferch named best of the West-Parker Bolt named to First Team-Logan Petersen named to Second Team

March 4, 2011
Northern-Sun Print
West Marshall claimed its third NICL West boys’ basketball conference title in as many years since joining the conference. The all-NICL West team again has a strong contingent of Trojan players. Junior guard Dalton Ferch has been named the NICL West’s Most Outstanding. Ferch is averaging 12.6 points, 4.1 rebounds, a NICL West-best 5.1 assists and 2.6 steals per game going into Saturday’s substate final against PCM at Marshalltown. Ferch’s 59 total steals also lead the NICL West. Ferch - an unanimous first team pick as a sophomore - was joined by junior center Michael Newton as a unanimous first team selection this winter. Newton leads the NICL West in scoring (16.6 points per game) as well as standing second in blocks (2.1 bpg) and field goal shooting percentage (.676). He also brings in a team-high 6.3 rebounds per game. West Marshall’s Dave Shipley has repeated as the NICL West Coach of the Year. The Trojans went 12-0 during conference play and are in the substate final for the fourth straight year. Conference runner-up AGWSR had a league-best three first team picks in Jordan Mills, Tanner Heikens and Josh Bagley. The senior Heikens averaged 12.4 points per game, led the conference in made free throws (68) and was second in rebounding (8.6 rpg). The senior Mills led the Cougars in scoring at 12.6 points per game to return to the first team. He was the top 3-point shooter in the league with 63 treys on the year. Bagley, a sophomore, averaged 12.4 points per game and shot a team-best .383 from 3-point range. Gladbrook-Reinbeck junior Parker Bolt was a unanimous first team pick after scoring 16.3 points per game - No. 2 in the NICL West. Bolt also grabbed 5.5 rebounds per game. Luke Erbes, a BCLUW senior, received first team recognition after leading the conference in field goal shooting percentage (.702) and blocks (2.8 bpg). The second team is comprised of Grundy Center senior Jordan Curren, West Marshall freshman Duncan Ferch, East Marshall senior Luke Wilson, BCLUW senior Jay Welp, Gladbrook-Reinbeck senior Logan Petersen and South Hardin juniors Andrew Stowe and Dayton Balvanz. Fact Box All-NICL West Boys Basketball Outstanding Player - Dalton Ferch, West Marshall Coach of the Year - Dave Shipley, West Marshall First Team (* denotes unanimous selection) Dalton Ferch*, jr., W.Marshall Michael Newton*, jr., W.Marshall Tanner Heikens, sr., AGWSR Jordan Mills, sr., AGWSR Josh Bagley, so., AGWSR Parker Bolt*, jr., Glad-Rein Luke Erbes, sr., BCLUW Second Team Jordan Curren, sr., Grundy Ctr. Duncan Ferch, fr., W.Marshall Luke Wilson, sr., E.Marshall Jay Welp, sr., BCLUW Andrew Stowe, jr., S.Hardin Dayton Balvanz, jr., S.Hardin Logan Petersen, sr., Glad-Rein Honorable Mention Nick Frazier, sr., AGWSR; Cole Thompson, jr. BCLUW; Tyler Sawyer, jr., East Marshall; Jacob Smoldt, so., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Austin Appel, sr., Grundy Center; Ben Ferris, jr., South Hardin; Tysen Streeter, jr., West Marshall. Final Standings West Marshall, 12-0 AGWSR, 10-2 Gladbrook-Reinbeck, 6-6 BCLUW, 5-7 Grundy Center, 5-7 South Hardin, 4-8 East Marshall, 0-12


I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web